Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Become a Member
Knighton Award

2019 winners

The 2019 Knighton Award winners have been announced!

View the winners

View past winners

Review and learn from recent outstanding award-winning reports.

Download the list

The Knighton award recognizes the best performance audit reports of the year using the Exceptional and Distinguished categories. Audit shops compete against peer shops of similar size, for this award.

The FAQ section below describes the Knighton Award process in detail. The submission period for the best reports of 2020 will open in late November. For questions, contact Awards Chair Hannah Gardener.

You can also participate by becoming a judge.


Shop size includes the Chief Audit Executive and staffed auditor positions, but not administrative support personnel. Include consultants working as full-time employees in the number of auditors.

  • Extra Small (1-2 auditors)
  • Small (3-5 auditors)
  • Medium (6-10 auditors)
  • Large (11-15 auditors)
  • Extra Large (16+ auditors) 

Audit organizations may send only one performance audit report for consideration per year. The submitting organization must:

  • be current ALGA organizational members. Individual members may submit only if they work in a shop that is an organizational member
  • grant ALGA permission to publish winning reports
  • take “majority responsibility” for conducting audit work and writing the audit report to ensure that members are recognized based on shops’ achievements rather than consultants’ work

The submitted report must:

  • be issued during the preceding calendar year
  • be conducted per Yellow Book or Red Book standards
  • must include a standards compliance or modified standards compliance statement

Judges use the following four criteria to evaluate reports for the Knighton Award. Judges equally weight each criterion.

  • The audit scope has potential for significant impact and is responsive to the needs and concerns of decision-makers and/or the public.
  • Audit conclusions are persuasive, logical, and firmly supported by the evidence, which was gathered using appropriate research methods and tools.
  • Audit recommendations are feasible and will make government programs more effective and efficient.
  • Audit results are communicated in a clear, concise way.

Judging teams made up of audit professionals review report submissions in each size category. They apply the established criteria and recommend performance audit reports for awards in each category. Award decisions are final.

Process timeline:
  • January 8, 2021 – Deadline to apply to be a Judge
  • January 22, 2021 – Deadline for Awards Program Submissions
  • March 5, 2021 – Judging panels complete the judging process
  • Late March - Early April 2021 – Awards Program Committee Chair notifies submitting shops of the results and makes them public
  • May 2021 – Knighton Awards are presented at ALGA's Annual Conference
Each award-winning audit organization will receive:
  • An award plaque presented during the ALGA Annual Conference;
  • A congratulatory letter, co-signed by the ALGA President and Awards Program Committee Chair, addressed to the Chief Audit Executive and an additional official requested by the award winner; and,
  • A press release announcing the award and its significance.

The Exemplary award recipient from each category is provided the opportunity to share their report with ALGA members during a concurrent session at the Annual Conference. If they present, they will receive travel costs to the Annual Conference per ALGA policy (includes airfare and hotel) and one conference registration.

Helpful Articles