Go To Search
Click to Home
Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Quarterly

Announcing the 2018 Award Winners!

The ALGA Publications Committee is pleased to announce that Angela Owens, Simone Rede, and Brian Evans from the Office of the Metro Auditor, Metro Regional Government, OR is the winner of the 2019 Outstanding Contribution to the Local Government Auditing Quarterly. Their article “Auditing Culture: Touchy, Feely Effective” published in the Summer 2018 - Auditing Ethics & Culture issue, tells their story of auditing organizational culture at the Oregon Zoo.

This article stood out to the judges for its great introduction, clear writing, and great organization. As stated by one judge, “Tone at the top, culture audit, management audit…it doesn’t matter what you call it, this article is a little guidebook to me on how to conduct this type of sensitive audit. The article clearly identified the programs and evaluated the options auditors have.”

The award winners will be recognized at the ALGA Annual Conference in Kansas City, MO on May 6, 2019. Thank you to the volunteer judges for your support; this program would not be possible without the commitment of ALGA’s member organizations!

Award Purpose and Presentation
Annually, ALGA and the Publications Committee coordinate the Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Quarterly. Award winners are selected from among the previous year's contributors to the Local Government Auditing Quarterly (LGAQ) via a two-part article selection and scoring process.

The purpose of the Award is to recognize an article published in the LGAQ that makes a noteworthy contribution to the field of auditing. It recognizes articles that educate fellow auditors on new and innovative audit practices and techniques, share experiences and lessons learned, and provide insight into the field of auditing with clarity and eloquence. 

The Award for Outstanding Contribution is presented at the ALGA conference by the Publications Committee Chair and/or the LGAQ Editor. In addition, the author and the winning article are featured in the awards announcement email.

All ALGA members who submitted an article for publication in the LGAQ, excluding Publications Committee members, are eligible to receive the Outstanding Contribution Award annually. Winners are ineligible for the following year’s consideration. 

Articles need not be submitted or nominated by an individual author or an audit organization to be considered for the Award. The Publications Committee members nominate a group of articles for review and selection by an independent panel of Award judges.

Evaluation Criteria 
The evaluation criteria are comprised of four scoring categories: 

  1. Significance of the article's contribution to the field. (Content)
  2. Substantive importance and methodological rigor - significance of the topic and elegance and thoroughness of the methods presented (Effectiveness)
  3. Substantive and/or methodological innovativeness - the degree to which the article breaks new ground. (Uniqueness)
  4. Style of communication and clarity of conveying information (Organization and Prose)

Become a Judge
to serve as a judge.

Email the Publications Committee Chair for more information. 

Previous Award Winners

Timothy M. O'Brien: City and County of Denver, CO
Marijuana Policy in Denver

Colin Stuart-Morse: City of Chicago Office of Inspector General
An Audit of Water Service Accounts in Chicago: Divining Findings in Unexpected Places

Minh Dan Vuong: City of San Jose, CA
Put Pavement on the Map: Engaging Visual Aids 

Chelsea Lei: King County, WA
Why Become a Performance Auditor: Recruitment from the Perspective of a First-Year Auditor

Rebecca Takahashi: City of Austin, TX

From Zero to 90: Auditing the City of Austin's Efforts to Measure and Achieve Zero Waste

Kymber Waltmunson and Ben Thompson: King County, WA

Traditional Audit Planning vs. Scrum