Go To Search
Click to Home
Knighton Award
2015 Knighton Award Winners
The Knighton Award recognizes the best performance audit reports of the preceding year. The Awards Committee is pleased to announce the 2015 Knighton Award winning reports: 

Extra Small Shops
Exemplary City of College Station, TX, Auditor’s Office
Streets Maintenance Audit

Deschutes County, OR, Office of the County Internal Auditor
Light Fleet Management

Distinguished Springfield Public Schools
Audit of Student Attendance Reporting

Small Shops
Exemplary Clark County Auditor's Office, Clark County, WA
Sheriff’s Office High Risk Equipment and Supplies Management Audit

Distinguished Sacramento City Auditor's Office, Sacramento, CA          
Audit of the City's Master Vendor File

Medium Shops 
Office of the City Auditor, City of Palo Alto, CA
Police Department:  Palo Alto Animal Services Audit

Distinguished City Auditor’s Office, City of Scottsdale, AZ
Scottsdale Road Improvements, Phase 1

Distinguished Seattle Office of City Auditor, City of Seattle, WA
Audit of the Seattle Police Department’s Public Disclosure Process

Large Shops 
King County Auditor's Office, King County, WA
Law Enforcement Oversight: Limited Independence, Authority & Access to Information Impede Effectiveness

Distinguished Long Beach City Auditor’s Office, City of Long Beach, CA
Police & Fire Public Safety Dispatcher Overtime Audit

Extra Large Shops 
Office of the Auditor, City and County of Denver, CO
Audit of Rocky Mountain Human Services

Distinguished Office of the City Auditor, City of San Diego, CA
Performance Audit of the Code Enforcement Division 

Distinguished Office of the Controller - City Services Auditor, City and County of San Francisco, CA
Office of the City Administrator: San Francisco Should Adopt Five Leading Practices to Improve the Effectiveness and Efficiency of Its Procurement Function

More information about each of these award winning reports

Additional Resources

See the list of Past Winners

Award-Related Articles from the LGAQ

  • Fall 2013 - An interview with Steve March on the Experience of Winning a 2012 Knighton Award   
  • Fall 2012 - What Were the Judges Thinking? A Behind the Scenes Look at the Knighton Award Rubric
  • Winter 2011 - Writing a (Knighton) Winning Report
  • Fall 2010 - Knighton Awards: Then and Now
  • Summer 2009 - Writing Effective Audit Reports

  • Knighton Award Winners
    Each award winning audit organization will receive:

    • An award presented during the ALGA Annual Conference;
    • A congratulatory letter, co-signed by the ALGA President and Awards Program Committee Chairperson, addressed to the Chief Audit Executive and an additional official requested by the award winner; and,
    • A press release announcing the award and its significance.

    The Exemplary award recipient from each category is provided the opportunity to share their report with ALGA members during a concurrent session at the Annual Conference. If the audit shop agrees to present their winning audit report at the 2016 ALGA Annual Conference, they will receive travel costs to the Annual Conference and one Conference registration.